Tipping Competition2021

In the beginning - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Thu, 23 Oct 2008 20:55:00 GMT
All the action from Rugby's oldest global tournament begins this weekend when several Rugby League nations kick off the 2008 World Cup.

Instant relief from weeks of isolation in your anti-cricket padded cells begins on Saturday night when England and Papua New Guinea go to war in Townsville.

By Sunday night, millions of Australians will be salivating on their good carpet in anticipation for the showdown from hell between France and Scotland.

And then…..the big one where fans will have to fight their way into the ticket line to ensure they get a seat in the house at the Sydney Football Stadium to watch New Zealand send convulsions into the Australian camp with a record winning margin.

The 2008 Rugby League World Cup...your life will never be the same again.

Game 1: England v Papua New Guinea (Pool 1)

Saturday 25 October 2008
Dairy Farmers Stadium, Townsville
Kick off 7:00pm local time, 8:00pm AEDST

1. Paul Wellens (St Helens)
2. Ade Gardner (St Helens)
3. Martin Glesson (Warrington Wolves)
4. Keith Senior (Leeds Rhinos)
5. Lee Smith (Leeds Rhinos)
6. Leon Pryce (St Helens)
7. Rob Burrow (Leeds Rhinos)
8. Jamie Peacock (c) (Leeds Rhinos)
9. James Roby (St Helens)
10. James Graham (St Helens)
11. Gareth Hock (Wigan Warriors)
12. Gareth Ellis (Leeds Rhinos/Wests Tigers)
13. Kevin Sinfield (Leeds Rhinos)
14. Danny McGuire (Leeds Rhinos)
15. Maurie Fa’asavalu (St Helens)
16. Adrian Morley (Warrington Wolves)
17. Jon Wilkin (St Helens)
Coach: Tony Smith

Papua New Guinea
1. John Wilshere (c) (Salford City Reds)
2. George Kepa (Brisbane Norths)
3. Jesse Joe Parker (Masta Mark Rangers)
4. Tu’u Maori (roosters)
5. David Moore (Gold Coast Titans)
6. Rod Griffin (Northern Pride)
7. Keith Peters (panthers)
8. Makali Aizue (Hull KR)
9. Paul Aiton (panthers)
10. Trevor Exton (Ipswich)
11. Neville Costigan (Canberra Raiders)
12. James Nightingale (Windsor Wolves)
13. Stanley Gene (Hull KR)
14. Rodney Pora (M&J Muruks)
15. George Moni (M&J Muruks)
16. Jason Chan (Windsor Wolves)
17. Charlie Wabo (M&J Muruks)
18. Nixon Kolo (Masta Mark Rangers)
19. Anton Kui (Bingtangor Lahanis)
20. Menzie Yere (Agmark Gurias)
(three to be omitted)
Coach: Adrian Lam (roosters)

Broadcast times:
Channel Nine Sydney: delayed 9:30-11:45pm AEDST
Fox Sports One: delayed 10:30pm-midnight AEDST
Bigpond LeagueTV: LIVE

Game 2: Scotland v France (Pool 2)

Sunday 26 October 2008
Canberra Stadium
Kick off 5:25pm local/AEDST


*** Team line-up to be announced ***
Coach: Steve McCormack (Widnes Vikings)


1. Jared Taylor (Lezignan)
2. Justin Murphy (Catalans Dragons)
3. John Wilson (Catalans Dragons)
4. Sebastien Raguin (Catalans Dragons)
5. Teddy Sadaoui (AS Carcassonne)
6. Thomas Bosc (Catalans Dragons)
7. Maxime Greseque (Pia Donkeys)
8. Adel Fellous (Hull FC)
9. Julien Rinaldi (Harlequins)
10. Olivier Elima (Catalans Dragons)
11. Jerome Guisset (Catalans Dragons)
12. Eric Anselme (Leeds Rhinos)
13. Gregory Mounis (Catalans Dragons)
14. James Wynne (Lezignan)
15. Remi Casty (Catalans Dragons)
16. Jamal Fakir (Catalans Dragons)
17. Christophe Moly (Carcassonne)
18. Laurent Carrasco (Toulouse)
(one to be omitted)
Coach: John Monie

Broadcast times:

Fox Sports Two: Live 5:15-7:25pm
Bigpond LeagueTV: LIVE

Game 3: Australia v New Zealand (Pool 1)
Sunday 26 October 2008
Sydney Football Stadium
Kick off 8:00pm local/AEDST

1. Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)
2. Joel Monaghan (Canberra Raiders)
3. Greg Inglis (Melbourne Storm)
4. Israel Folau (Melbourne Storm/Brisbane Broncos)
5. Brent Tate (NZ Warriors)
6. Darren Lockyer (c) (Brisbane Broncos)
7. Jonathan Thurston (cowboys)
8. Petero Civoniceva (panthers)
9. Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
10. Steve Price (NZ Warriors)
11. Glenn Stewart (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
12. Anthony Laffranchi (Gold Coast Titans)
13. Paul Gallen (Cronulla Sharks)
14. Brent Kite (Manly Warringah Seas Eagles)
15. Josh Perry (Manly Warringah Seas Eagles)
16. Anthony Tupou (Sydney City Roosters)
17. Kurt Gidley (knights)
Coach: Ricky Stuart (Cronulla Sharks)

New Zealand:

1. Lance Hohaia (NZ Warriors)
2. Sam Perrett (roosters)
3. Steve Matai (manly sea eagles)
4. Jerome Ropati (NZ Warriors)
5. Manu Vatuvei (NZ Warriors)
6. Benji Marshall (Wests Tigers)
7. Thomas Leuluai (Wigan Warriors)
8. Nathan Cayless (c) (eels)
9. Nathan Fien (NZ Warriors)
10. Adam Blair (Melbourne Storm)
11. Simon Mannering (NZ Warriors)
12. Sika Manu (Melbourne Storm)
13. Jeremy Smith (Melbourne Storm)
14. Dene Halatau (Wests Tigers)
15. Greg Eastwood (Brisbane Broncos/Leeds Rhinos)
16. Setimata Sa (roosters)
17. Sam Rapira (NZ Warriors)
Coach: Stephen Kearney (Melbourne Storm)

Broadcast times:
Channel Nine Sydney: delayed 8:30-10:45pm
Fox Sports One: delayed 10:30pm-midnight AEDST
Bigpond LeagueTV: LIVE

Exhibition Game: NZ Maori V Australia Indigenous
Sunday 26 October 2008
Sydney Football Stadium
Kick off 4:15pm local/AEDST

NZ Maori
1. Bronx Goodwin (Unattached/Tanui)
2. Jordan Rpana (Gold Coast Titans/Ngati Toa)
3. Chase Stanley (St George-Illawarra Dragons/Ngapuhi)
4. Karl Johnson (Comets/Ngapuhi)
5. Shaun Kenny-Dowell (Sydney City Roosters/Kai Tahu)
6. Arana Taumata (Canterbury Bulldogs/Tuwharetoa)
7. Rangi Chase (St George-Illawarra Dragons/Ngati Kahungunu)
8. Weller Hauraki (eels) Ngapuhi
9. Ben Ellis (C) (St George-Illawarra Dragons) Tuwharetoa
10. Sam McKendry (panthers) Ngapuhi
11. Craig Smith (Unattached former NZ International/Te Whanau Apanui)
12. Wairangi Koopu (NZ Warriors/Ngapuhi)
13. Lee Te Maari (Canterbury Bulldogs/Tanui)
14. Charlie Herekotukutuku (North Sydney Bears)
15. Joseph Cahill (roosters/Ngati Kahungunu)
16. Chance Bunce (Cronulla Sharks/Ngapuhi)
17. James Tamou (roosters/Tuhoe)
18. Kevin Proctor (Melbourne Storm/Ngapuhi)
(one to be omitted)
Head Coach: Luke Goodwin (NSW Maori RL/Tanui)
Australia Indigenous:

1. Rhys Wesser (panthers/rabbitohs)
2. Justin Carney (Canberra Raiders)
3. Maurice Blair (panthers)
4. Jamal Idris (Canterbury Bulldogs)
5. Ty Williams (cowboys)
6. Jamie Soward (St George-Illawarra Dragons)
7. Preston Campbell (c) (Gold Coast Titans)
8. Carl Webb (vc) (cowboys)
9. Ian Lacey (Ipswitch Jets)
10. George Rose (manly sea eagles)
11. Daine Laurie (Wests Tigers)
12. Derrick Watkins (Brisbane Broncos)
13. Dean Widders (rabbitohs)
14. Chris Sandow (rabbitohs)
15. Rod Jensen (Huddersfield Giants)
16. Yileen Gordon (Canterbury Bulldogs)
17. Peter Jensen (Thirlmere/Tahmoor Roosters)
18. Denis Moran (Narwan Eels)
(one to be omitted)
Coach: Neil Henry
- Read More, Here