Brisbane Broncos, Rugby League

Brisbane Broncos
Brisbane Broncos Brief

The Brisbane Broncos are an Australian professional rugby league football club based in the city of Brisbane, the capital of the state of Queensland. Founded in April 1988, the Broncos play in Australia's elite competition, the National Rugby League (NRL) premiership. They have won six premierships, including two NSWRL titles a Super League premiership and three NRL premierships. They also have two World Club Challenges. The Broncos have achieved four minor premierships during their 29 years in multiple competitions, making them Rugby League's most successful club over the past three decades. Until 2015 Brisbane had never been defeated in a grand final, and between 1991 and 2009 they never failed to qualify for the finals. They are the most successful club in the National Rugby League, since it began in 1998, winning three premierships in this competition. They are also one of the most successful clubs in the history of rugby league, having won 63% of their games since their induction in 1988, second only to Melbourne Storm with 64%.

The club records the highest annual revenue out of all NRL clubs–$32.8m for the 2012 financial year–and is one of the most valuable clubs of any code in Australia, worth over $42 million.[1] Along with financial competitiveness, the Broncos have been voted one of Australia's most popular and most watched football teams,[2] and has one of the highest average attendances of any rugby league club in the world; 33,337 in the 2012 NRL season.

The club was founded in April 1988 as part of the Winfield Cup's national expansion, becoming, along with the Gold Coast-Tweed Giants, one of Queensland's first two participants in the New South Wales Rugby League premiership. The Broncos later became the dominant force in the competition before playing a significant role in the Super League War of the mid-1990s, then continuing to compete successfully in the newly created National Rugby League competition. The Broncos are based in the Brisbane suburb of Red Hill where their training ground and Leagues club are located, but they play their home games at Milton's Lang Park. They are the only publicly listed sporting club on the Australian Securities Exchange, trading as Brisbane Broncos Limited (ASX: BBL).

The club's current head coach is former Queensland and Australia coach, Wayne Bennett, who has been widely regarded as one of the best coaches of all time and holds many Australian coaching records for the most grand final wins. In 2000, the Brisbane Broncos won their 5th NRL premiership with Wayne Bennett. In 1988, He was the Broncos coach before moving to the St George-Illawarra Dragons in 2009. He was then re-appointed as the Head Coach to Brisbane Broncos in 2015.
Brisbane Broncos Social Media
Brisbane Broncos Next Game
No Future Games Found
Brisbane Broncos News
  • No Related News Articles Found
Brisbane Broncos Logo
Brisbane Broncos NRL 2022 Performance
  • No Fixtures Found
  • Brisbane Broncos NRL 2022 Recent Results
  • No Fixtures Found