Tipping Competition2021

West Tigers and Magpies in Sevens Tournament - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Wed, 07 Feb 2007 21:45:00 GMT
Wests Tigers AND

A desperate
plea from organizers has led to Wests Tigers fielding a team in the Carlton Mid
Strength St Marys International Sevens competition at Western Weekender Stadium
on Saturday, February 10.

Wests Tigers
CEO Steve Noyce said organiser Tas Bateri made contact with the club pleading
for a team to be put in.

“As a
special matter to assist the game and also give some younger players a hit out,
Tim Sheens agreed to assist Tas,’’
Noyce said.

Simmons will coach the Wests Tigers team. Wests Magpies are also playing in the

Tigers have a strong record in Sevens football, winning the World Sevens
tournament in Sydney
in 2004. The club still holds the trophy as the tournament has not been played

The Wests
Tigers team for the St Mary’s tournament comprises of first grade players
Taniela Tuiaki and Tevita Metuisela and Wests Tigers Apprentices Damon Harth,
Matt Ryan, Kingi Akaoula, Tim Moltzen and Matt Parata.

Former Parramatta prop Peter
Lewis is in the team whilst former Roosters hooker Lewis Brown and St
George-Illawarra back-rower Tom Harberecht is also in the Wests Tigers line-up.

The Wests
Tigers squad is Rodney Griffin, Damon Harth, Matt Ryan, Lee Bennett, Taniela
Tuiaki, Kingi Akaoula, Tim Moltzen, Peter Lewis, Dave
Marando, Tevita Metuisela, Matt Parata, Lewis Brown, Tom Harberecht, Rodney
Griffin; coach Royce Simmons, manager/trainer Alan

The competition
features teams from panthers, Western Suburbs Magpies, Valley United,
Sydney Bulls, Windsor Wolves and Doonside Roos. A NSW Koori side has also been
invited to play.

Teams from Portugal, Cook Islands, Amerika Samoa, and Fiji make up
the international visitors.

Tigers have been placed in Pool 1 with panthers and Valley United.

The opening
game of the tournament at 12.20pm sees Penrith play Wests Tigers.

Tigers then play Valley United at 3pm.

Suburbs Magpies are in Pool 2 with Doonside Roos and Sydney Bulls. The Magpies
play Doonside at 12.40pm following the Wests Tigers game, and then Sydney Bulls
at 2pm.

The Magpies
team is: Natani Suka, Nua Alone, Mark Hendy, Beau Ryan, Walter Imo, Nathan
Waters, Brendan Waters, Wayde Dunley, Michael Burns, Dean Rysko, Pat Galea,
Luke Gordon, Jamie Keith.

Dunley and
Rysko are also Wests Tigers Apprentice players.

will be held from 4.20pm with the finals beginning at 6.20pm. The Cup final
will be held at 7.15pm. - Read More, Here