Tipping Competition2021

US rivals named - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Sat, 26 Jan 2008 09:14:00 GMT
South Sydney coach Jason Taylor and his Leeds counterpart, Brian McLennan, have named their respective squads for Saturday’s pre-season game in Florida.

The Australia Day clash is expected to be a full house with over 7,500 tickets sold for the showdown at Hodges Stadium which has a seating capacity of 10,000.

While the game will not be telecast live, a report in the Sydney Morning Herald on Friday revealed that the clash “may also be televised in the US, as well as in Australia and Britain.”

Fans can listen to the game live care of local Jacksonville radio station, www.1010XL.com, on Saturday.

Amongst the commentators will be former NFL linebacker Tom McManus, who played for five seasons with the Jacksonville Jaguars.

The giant former gridiron defender has been spending time with both squads during the week and had Rhinos skipper Kevin Sinfield on his lunchtime radio show on Wednesday to promote the game.

However Rhinos coach Brian McLennan doesn’t want his troops to get too distracted from their final pre-season showdown with Hull KR next weekend.

“It is important that we don't lose our focus on the Hull KR game next Saturday and with that in mind we have named a larger bench than normal, which will be important especially in the hot conditions with a 1pm kick off," added McClennan.

The game kicks off at 1pm on Saturday (5am Australian time).

GRL Tip: Leeds by 12

South Sydney:

1. Beau Champion, 2. Shannon Hegarty, 3. Yileen Gordon, 4. Fetuli Talanoa, 5. Germaine Paulson, 6. Ben Rogers, 7. Eddie Paea, 8. Michael Greenfield, 9. Issac Luke, 10. Manase Manuokafoa, 11. Ben Lowe, 12. Luke Stuart (c), 13. John Sutton Interchange: 14. Beau Falloon, 15. George Ndaira, 16. Jaiman Lowe, 17. Eddy Pettybourne, 18. Shannan McPherson, 19. Jamie Simpson, 20. Sam Huihahau, 21. Nathanael Barnes, 22. John Taminika Coach: Jason Taylor.

Leeds Rhinos:

1. Brent Webb, 2. Scott Donald, 3. Clinton Toopi, 4. Keith Senior, 5. Lee Smith, 6. Danny McGuire, 7. Rob Burrow, 8. Kylie Leuluai, 9. Matt Diskin, 10. Jamie Peacock, 11. Jamie Jones-Buchanan, 12. Gareth Ellis, 13. Kevin Sinfield (c) Interchange: 14. Ali Lauitiiti 17. Nick Scruton, 18. Ian Kirke, 19. Carl Ablett, 20. Ashley Gibson, 21. Jordan Tansey 22. Ryan Hall, 23. Danny Williams, 24. Luke Burgess, 26. Ben Kaye ,30. Michael Haley Coach: Brian McLennan. - Read More, Here