Tipping Competition2021

Titans lead new comp - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Mon, 17 Mar 2008 07:31:00 GMT

The Gold Goast Titans sit at the top of the table of the Toyota Cup after scoring the biggest win of the opening round.

Titans winger Shannon Walker – who is rated a good chance of making his NRL debut this season – left the opposition right behind with his speed as he picked up a double set of tries along with teammate Kane Lawton in a 9 tries to 2 demolition derby.

Meanwhile South Sydney forward Eddy Pettybourne took out honours of his own after scoring the first try of the competition in the opening 10 minutes of play at ANZ Stadium on Friday afternoon.

Behind at the break the Roosters bounced back superbly late in the second-half to win the ball-game 14-10.

The Eels turned a 16-0 deficit into a 30-24 win against the Bulldogs on Saturday but not without giving Canterbury some ideal field position late in the game which almost resulted in a draw had it not been for a forward pass.

The Sea Eagles under-20’s squad gave Manly fans their first taste of victory in 2008 after they proved too good for Cronulla with a 22-14 win at Brookvale Oval.

Karl Filiga – who is being touted as the next Sonny Bill Williams (isn’t everybody?) - scored a double but in the end it was accurate goal kicking which helped Manly’s cause.

Despite only arriving in Brisbane an hour before kick-off, the Panthers outclassed their teammates in first grade with a 28-24 victory over the Queenslanders.

Panthers winger Sonny Tuigamala was the only player to score twice in a game where Brisbane seemed to take control midway through the second half.

The Wests Tigers defended solidly to hold out the Dragons who like their first-grade peers attempted a late comeback but to no avail.

Gold Coast 46 (S Walker 2, K Lawton 2, J McCarthy 2, K Aka’oula, S Stewart, C White tries; C Nelson 5 goals) d North Queensland 10 (C Reisen, O Geia tries; N Barraclough goal)
Roosters 14 (A Cherrington, G Teo, S Waqa tries; B Cronin goal) d South Sydney 10 (E Pettybourne try; C Sandwon 3 goals)
Parramatta 30 (K Keating 2, T Rea, D Nasso, L Latham tries; T Williams 4, D Mortimer goals) d Canterbury 20 (B Barba 2, S Tala, J Foster, R Jack tries; B Barba 2 goals)
Manly 22 (M Page 2, J Buhrer, D Lussick tries; D Evans 3 goals) d Cronulla 14 (K Filiga 2, L Hume tries; N Stapeton goal)
Canberra 28 (B Dunn 2, J Carney 2, J Dugan, N Skinner tries; M Picker 2 goals) d Newcastle 14
Panthers 28 (S Tuigamala 2, M Iosefa, J Tia Kilifi, J Theoharous tries; M Iosefa 2 goals) d Brisbane 14 (T Butterfield, N Strudwick, J McGuire, B Hunt tries; G Beale 4 goals)
Wests Tigers 24 (B Lazarus 2, C Towney, S Makaui, M Davidson, W Dunley tries; B Lazurus 5 goals) St George 22 (J Cochrane, D Fepuleai, M Mundine, L Setu tries; M Mundine 3 goals) - Read More, Here