Tipping Competition2021

The Queenspeak - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Fri, 11 May 2007 12:42:00 GMT
Round 9 Teams:

Venue: Bishop Park
Date: Saturday May 12th KO 2:00pm
Referee: Luke Potter
GRL Tip: Burleigh by 10

In threat of losing touch with the top five, Burleigh welcomes back junior representatives Kieran Turner and Luke Samoa, while Anthony Perkins returns from suspension.

Burleigh is boosted by the inclusion of Trent Purdon, scorer of three tries in his last outing for the Bears. Norths v Burleigh clashes are traditionally known for their brutal forward battles.

Norths actually has the second-best attacking record in the league, but sits third-last on the ladder. That comes about via a forgettable defensive record, conceding almost 30 points per game.

Coach Kevin Carmichael and his staff have been working hard to create greater understanding between the Melbourne-based players and the Brisbane contingent.

CHANGES: NORTHS – In: Kieran Turner, Anthony Perkins, Luke Samoa. Out: Jharal Yow Yeh, Willis Grant, Ryan Shortland. BURLEIGH – In: Trent Purdon. Out: Lelea Paea

Norths: 1.Kieran Turner, 2.George Kepa, 3.Joel Thompson, 4.Will Chambers, 5.Anthony Perkins, 6.Jason Poppy, 7.Liam Foran, 8.Aidan Tolman, 9.James Aubusson, 10.Scott Anderson, 11.Matt Rua, 12.Mathew Bartlett, 13.Sika Manu. Interchange: 14.Darren Bruce, 15.Brendan Afitu, 16.Luke Samoa, 17.Adam Blair. Coach: Kevin Carmichael

Burleigh: 1.Nick Parfitt, 2.Trent Purdon, 3.Alex Glenn, 4.Jordan Atkins, 5.Aseri Lang, 6.Adam Hayden, 7.Ben Black, 8.James Griffiths, 9.Ryan Gundry ©, 10.James Stosic, 11.Martin Griese, 12.Leigh Coghill, 13.John Flint Interchange: 14.Josh Blatch, 15.Wayne Phillis 16.Stacey Katu, 17.Murray Emmerson Coach: Jim Lenihan.

Venue: Dairy Farmers Stadium
Date: Saturday May 12th KO 5:30pm
Referee: Justin Eastwood
GRL Tip: NQLD by 20

Suspensions and last-up defeats have brought widespread changes to these two teams, contestants in the competition’s truest ‘bush’ derby.

Five members of the 2005 Queensland Under 19 team are on show here – Tyron Haynes, Brett Anderson, Colin Wilkie, Jimmy Andersen and Daniel Backo.

Backo, son of Sam, will make his Wizard Cup debut after starting the year out in the Mackay and District league.

CHANGES: NORTH QLD – In: Michael Rose, Obe Geia, Daniel Backo, Colin Wilkie, Keiron Lander, Ryan Bartlett. Out: Toshio Laiseni, Ty Williams, Scott Smith, Nathan Barraclough, Scott Bolton, Greg Byrnes. CENTRAL – In: Yoren Major, Luke Fatnowna, Geoff Black. Out: Pat Dall, George Tuakura, Wayne Barnett.

NQLD: 1.Toshio Laiseni, 2.Neil Sweeney, 3.Brett Anderson, 4.Jamie Frizzo, 5.TBA, 6.Jackson Nicolau, 7.Shane Muspratt ©, 8.Ben Vaeau, 9.Scott Smith, 10.John Frith, 11.Jimmy Anderson, 12.Sam Faust, 13.Scott Bolton Interchange: 14.Ray Thompson, 15. Nathan Barraclough, 16.Ben Lowe, 17. Greg Byrnes. Coach: Matt Parish.

Comets: 1.Junior Auru, 2.Ben Farrell, 3.Brendan Gibb, 4.James Munns, 5.Marty Hatfield, 6.Nat Bowman, 7.Yoren Major, 8.Peter Penaia, 9. Mick Esdale, 10.Luke Fatnowna, 11.Guy Williams, 12.Todd Titmus, 13.Tyron Haynes Interchange: 14.Steve Farrelly, 15.Brent Williams, 16.Mark Siniula, 17.Geoff Black. Coach: Steve Anderson

Venue: BMD Kougari Oval
Date: Sunday May 13th KO 3:00pm
Referee: Michael Wise
GRL Tip: Wynnum

Wynnum Manly has won only one of its last five games and that was against last-placed Central. The Seagulls welcome stalwart Jim Ahmat back this week, but are still without suspended Ben Czislowki.

Aspley will need to find a replacement for towering centre Jason Moon, suspended for a Grade 2 careless high tackle.

Jim Ahmat will equal David Seage for the second-most number of games for Wynnum Manly in the Wizard Cup.

His 113th match comes with him on 51 career tries, equal in that department with current teammate Simon Phillips.

CHANGES: WYNNUM MANLY – In: Jim Ahmat, Chris Birch. Out: Kerry Smith, Luke Dalziel-Don. ASPLEY – In: Andrew Lomu. Out: Troyden Watene-Edwards.

Wynnum: 1.Jim Ahmat, 2. Tangi Ropati, 3. Simon Phillips 4. Bill Wyatt 5.Chris McQueen, 6.Chris Birch,, 7.Denny Lambert, 8.Angus Martin, 9.Albert Talipeau, 10.Fili Sofa, 11.John Bruce, 12.Darren Bain, 13.Daniel Frame. Interchange: 14.Sam Crabb, 15.Kurtis Curry, 16.Paoa Faamita, 17.Wade Bachmann. Coach: Shane McNally.

Aspley: 1.Denan Kemp, 2.Rodney Davies, 3.Jason Moon, 4.Jamie Simpson, 5.Gideon Mzembe, 6.Ben Green, 7.Brent McConnell, 8.Nick Kenny, 9.Ian Lacey, 10.David Taylor, 11.Lachlan Morgan, 12.Clifford Manua ©, 13.Derricke Watkins. Interchange: 14.Andrew Lomu, 15.Brynjar Ragnarsson, 16 John Te Reo, 17.Nathan Strudwick Coach: Mark Gee.

Venue: Dolphin Oval
Date: Sunday May 13th KO 3:00pm
Referee: Justin Davis
GRL Tip: Redcliffe

A major grudge match between the competition high-flyers and a side which collected the wooden spoon last year.

This season both clubs find themselves in the top five and in relatively strong form. Only Ipswich fans with a long memory will recall the last time the Jets won at Dolphin Oval – way back in 1993.

In 13 Queensland Wizard cup battles since 1996, Redcliffe has totally dominated Ipswich on the peninsula. The Dolphins average almost 40 points on home soil for their last five games against the Jets.

CHANGES: REDCLIFFE – In: Nick Emmett. Out: Trent Leis. IPSWICH – In: Chris Walker, Ricky Bird, Scott Alo. Out: Alex Fata, Gavin Cooper, Matt Cameron.

Redcliffe: 1.Ryan Cullen, 2.Alwayn Simpson, 3.Matt Harris, 4.Nick Emmett, 5.Rory Bromley, 6.Chris Fox, 7.Marty Turner, 8.Troy Lindsay ©, 9.Mick Roberts, 10.Nick Walker, 11.Grant Flugge, 12.Danny Burke, 13.Nathan Tutt Interchange: 14.Adam Starr, 15.Pat Gardner, 16.Daniel Green, 17.Shannon Fish Coach: Anthony Griffin.

Ipswich: 1. Ben McFadgean, 2.Luke Walker, 3.Chris Walker, 4.Jason Bulgarelli, 5.Tyson Lofipo, 6.Todd Riggs, 7.Ricky Bird, 8.Mathew McPhee, 9.Michael Ryan, 10.Scott Alo, 11.Geoff Chalk, 12.Trevor Exton, 13.Danny Coburn. Interchange: 14.Isaak Ah Mau, 15.Joel Reithmuller, 16.Aaron Sweeney, 17.Steven West. Coach: Kevin Walters

Venue: Davies Park
Date: Sunday May 13th KO 3:00pm
Referee: Clayton Sharpe
GRL Tip: Souths Logan

Feathers are set to fly when the evenly-matched Magpies and Seagulls go head-to-head. Souths Logan upset Melbourne Storm feeder club Norths last weekend by two points, while Tweed Heads scored a gallant 24-all draw with Brisbane Broncos affiliate Aspley.

Chris Sandow played four games for Souths Logan in his Wizard Cup debut season in 2006 and was the focal point for the club’s Colts team.

Having switched to the Tweed, he now returns to Davies Park for the first time.

The jack rabbit bamboozled a handful of defenders in scoring against Aspley last weekend, but only has two tries so far this season.

CHANGES: SOUTHS LOGAN – In: No announced changes. TWEED HEADS – In: Matthew Pow. Out: Matthew Austin.

Souths Logan: 1.Quentin Laulu-Togagae, 2.Daniel Sorbello, 3.Mick Anschau, 4.Kyle Lodge, 5.Tyrone Coppedge, 6.Phil Dennis, 7.Paul Rolls, 8.Dennis Conlon, 9.Cameron Joyce, 10.Kieran Whalley, 11.Tim Cannard, 12.Brandan Costin, 13.Scott Marks. Interchange: 14.Josh Griffith, 15.Chris McGuirk, 16.Paul Stanley, 17.Darren Glase. Coach: Jason Burnham/Brandon Costin.

Tweed Heads: 1. Shannon Walker, 2. Nathanael Barnes, 3. David Myles, 4.James Wood, 5.Josh Vaughan, 6.Brad Davis, 7.Tim Maccan, 8.Roy Friend, 9.Mathew King, 10.Chris Enaharo, 11.Andrew Moroney ©, 12.Selasi Berdie, 13.Mathew Pow. Interchange: 14. Chris Farrell, 15.Pete Peletelese, 16.Will Mathews, 17.Chris Sandow Coach: Troy McCarthy
- Read More, Here