Tipping Competition2021

The Premier report - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Wed, 28 Mar 2007 10:16:00 GMT
Joe Galuvao and Jaiman Lowe starred in what was generally a lacklustre performance in the Bears first Premier League clash with last year’s Grand Finalists Parramatta.

An arm wrestle in the first half saw the Bears keep the Eels at bay for virtually the entire 40 minutes before Parramatta scored 2 tries in as many minutes to go to a 10-0 lead at the break.

In the second half a single try to Germaine Paulson was answered by 3 tries from Parra centre Krisnan Inu leaving the final score 38-4 to the Eels.

The Best for the Bears were Joe Galuvao, Jaiman Lowe and Conrad Ta’akimoeaka in the forwards and Fetuli Talanoa on the wing.

Coach Wayne Lambkin will look to an improved performance against the Sharks next week.

PARRAMATTA 38 (K Inu 4, Aaron Wood, A Betham, J Storer tries; J Maloney 4, Inu goals) def NORTH SYDNEY 4 (Try; Germaine Paulson).

In other round 2 fixtures, the Newtown Jets caused a big upset on the road after they dismantled the in-form Auckland rookies 38-18 at Mt Smart Stadium.

It was a big turnaround for the Lions after their shock 19-point win over reigning premiers Parramatta in their debut fixture.

Newtown had to withstand a strong fight back by the Lions immediately after halftime and only locked up this win with two converted tries late in the second half.

The Lions learned how unforgiving the VB Premier League can be, with Newtown being quick to capitalise on any handling errors or defensive lapses.

The Jets' contingent of players with extensive NRL experience certainl made all the difference in this match

Meanwhile Cronulla-Sutherland – who had a better run themselves when they were merged with Newtown two seasons ago – remain the only winless team in premier league heading into round 3.

Other PL results: Bulldogs 34 Penrith 24, Canberra 26 St Geo-Illawarra 18, Balmain Ryde 24 Manly 16, Wests 32 Cronulla 24, Newtown 38 Auckland 18.

Table standings: Newcastle 4, Balmain Ryde Eastwood 4, Canberra 4, Newtown 3, Eels 2, Manly 2, Auckland 2, Wests 2, Penrith 2, Bulldogs 2, Norths 2, St George-Illawarra 1, Cronulla 0. - Read More, Here