Tipping Competition2021

The Premier Preview - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Fri, 25 May 2007 10:54:00 GMT
The Frank Hyde Shield is moving nowhere after the Newtown Jets outplayed the North Sydney Bears 24-18 last Friday night.

“Again the effort was there but the execution was not” said Coach Wayne Lambkin naming Stuart Webb as his standout.

Despite a classy try by Bears centre Fetuli Talanoa, Newtown’s Jamie Soward was the difference in a match where the ref’s whistle was heard loud and often.

That might explain why Soward is now being targeted by Rugby Union to help prop up the dilapidated game they play in heaven. ‘’

Meanwhile the Bulldogs soared to the top of the competition ladder after Greek international Nick Kouparitsas scored a late try to hand back the jaws of defeat to Cronulla 36-32 at Telstra Stadium.

The Eels suffered their first back to back loss of the year after Penrith disposed of the premiers 28-24 at Parramatta Stadiuim.

St George-Illawarra was the only team to score half a century in round 10 after they bloodied Newcastle 50-0 in front of the locals.

Newcastle have the bye this week and will use it to recover from a loss that many didn’t see coming.

Western Suburbs will be looking for a third win this weekend when they play the Bulldogs in order to leap frog the Auckland Lions on the table.

Premier League kicks-off on Friday night with a clash that the world has been waiting for when Canberra tackles the Dragons at home.

Seats are expected to go fast for what is being labelled a strong contender for ‘game of the year.’

There were murmurs in the Rugby League world this week that a group of hard-core PL fans were thinking about lobbying for this game to be broadcast, such is the anticipation for it.

Round 11 Teams:

Venue: Canberra Stadium
Date: Friday May 25th
Referee: Adam Devcich
GRL Tip: Raiders

Raiders: 1.Troy O’Sullivan, 2.Junior Sau, 3.Chad Grintell, 4.Brad Cross, 5.Michael Brophy, 6.Marc Herbert, 7.Andrew Dunemann, 8.Jason Williams, 9.Ryan Hinchcliffe ©, 10.Cy Lasscock, 11.Alan Rothery, 12.Joe Picker, 13.Glen Buttriss. Interchange: 14.Jack Pearson, 15.Brenton Lawrence, 16.Willie Raston Coach: Tony Adam.

Dragons: 1.Richard Williams, 2.Rota Setu, 3.Frank Samia, 4.Brad Davidson, 5.Brett Morris, 6.Tony Caine, 7. Reece Blayney, 8.Charlie Leaeno, 9.Rangi Chase, 10.Matt Prior, 11.Ryan Powell ©, 12.Chris Houston, 13.Ricky Thorby Interchange: 14.Pat Rosser, 15.Rhys Lovegrove, 16.Daniel Fepuleai, 17.Lagi Setu. Coach: Steve Price.

Venue: Belmore Sports Ground, 2:00pm
Date: Saturday May 26th
Referee: Ricky McFarlane
GRL Tip: Bulldogs

Bulldogs: 1.Trent Cutler, 2.Tom Kerr, 3.Cameron Phelps, 4.Tim Winitana, 5.Brent Crisp 6. Dallas McIlwain, 7.Daniel Holdsworth, 8.Jon Green, 9.Billy Ngawini, 10.Charlie Farah, 11.Brad Morrin, 12. Adam Brideson, 13.Nathan Armit Interchange: 14.Fred Briggs, 15.Daniel Green, 16. Frank Winterstein, 17.Jamie Judge. Coach: Andy Patmore

Wests: 1.Shannon Gallant, 2.Chance Bunce, 3.Mark Hendy, 4.Beau Ryan, 5.Nick Taylor, 6.Wayde Dunley, 7.Brendan Waters, 8.Pat Galea, 9.Nathan Waters, 10.Toa Asa, 11.Jarrad Farlow, 12.Dean Rysko, 13.Simon Greaves. Interchange: 14.Teason Fa’avaeli, 15.Mitch Stanfield, 16.Ben Taia, 17.Jamie Szcerbanik Coach: John Dorahy.

Venue: Brookvale Oval, 3:15pm
Date: Saturday May 26th
Referee: Gerry Sutton
GRL Tip: Norths

Manly: 1.Sean Meaney, 2. Sean Dalton,, 3.Shane Neumann, 4. Nick Bradley-Qualilawa
, 5.Junior Ahio, 6. Jeff Robson ©,, 7.Aaron Groom 8.Sione Finefeuiaki, 9.Matt Ballin, 10. Phil Morwood, 11.Adam Cuthbertson, 12.Jack Afamasaga, 13.Jason Wells. Interchange: 14.Blake Hanlon, 15.Chris Trembath, 16.John O’Sullivan, 17.James Mortimer Coach: Craig Sandercock

Norths: 1.Beua Champion, 2.Isaac Gordon, 3.Germaine Paulson, 4.Fetuli Talanoa, 5.Troy Boston, 6.Ben Rogers, 7.Eddie Paea, 8.Conrad Ta’akimoeaka, 9.Stuart Webb, 10.Joe Falemaka, 11.Eddy Pettybourne, 12.Shannon McPherson, 13.Jardine Bobongie Interchange: 14.Valu Nasio, 15.Dave Wynyard 16.Ryan Verlinden, 17.Isaac Luke. Coach: Wayne Lambkin.

Venue: Toyota Park, 5:30pm
Date: Saturday May 26th
Referee: Brett Suttor
GRL Tip: Sharks

Cronulla: 1.Brackin Henry, 2. Tu’u Maori, 3.Josh Hannay, 4. Dane Nielson, 5.Bryson Goodwin, 6.Brett Seymour, 7.Anthony Watts, 8.Jacob Selmes, 9.Luke Sant, 10.Dayne Weston, 11.Paul Stephenson, 12.Henry Perenara, 13.Brett Finn Interchange: 14.Eddie Sua, 15.James Banister 16.Michael Greenfield, 17.Leonard Ropeta. Coach: Jim Dymock.

Newtown Jets: 1.Shaun Foley, 2.Rhys Pritchard, 3.Iosia Soliola, 4. Troy Savage, 5.Aaron Lai, 6.Rory Kostjaysn, 7.Jamie Soward, 8.Charles Tonga, 9. Heath L’Estrange, 10.Dale Newtown, 11.Grant Millington, 12.Adam Schubert, 13. Danny Williams Interchange: 14.George Ndaira, 15.Hep Cahill, 16.James Shillington, 23.Willie Brown. Coach: Paul Young.

Venue: Penrith Football Stadium, 12:45pm
Date: Sunday May 27th
Referee: Luke Potter
GRL Tip: Penrith

Penrith: 1.Jarrod Sammut, 2.Adam McCrone, 3.Liam Georgetown, 4. Jade Williams, 5.Mathew Forwood, 6.Craig Trindall, 7.Wayne Bond, 8.Andrew Pearn, 9.Masada Iosefa 10.Bryan Norrie, 11.Mathew Bell, 12.John Nuumaalii,13.Josh Bateman Interchange: 14.Josh Nightingale, 15.Brendan Hlad, 16.Charles Enosi, 17.Jamie Theoharous. Coach: Steve Georgallis.

Balmain-Ryde: 1.Shannon McDonnell, 2.Jason Moodie, 3.Ben Jeffrey, 4.Rhys Hanbury, 5.Lee Bennett ©, 6.Tim Moltzen, 7.Jai Ayoub, 8.Tevita Metuisela 9.Stuart Flanagan, 10.Sam Moa, 11.Rocky Trimarchi, 12.Rod Griffin, 13.Blake Ayshford. Interchange: 14.David Marando 15.Tom Harberecht, 16.Luke Harlen, 17.Lewis Brown. Coach: Arthur Kitinas.

Venue: Parramatta, 5:00pm
Date: Monday May 28th
Referee: Alan Shortall
GRL Tip: Eels

Parramatta: 1.Michael Lett ©, 2.Etu Uaisele, 3.Taulima Tautai, 4.Krisnan Inu, 5.Joel Reddy, 6.Kris Keating, 7.Blake Green, 8.Junior Paulo, 9.Matt Keating, 10.Justin Tsoulos, 11.Richard Fa’aoso, 12.Weller Hauraki, 13.Zeb Taia. Interchange: 14. Brendan Oake, 15.Justin Horo, 17.Aaron Wood, 18.David Williams Coach: Rip Taylor

Auckland: 1.Aiden Kirk, 2.Michael Crockett, 3.Miguel Start, 4.Todd Byrne, 5.Malo Solomona, 6. Steve Buckingham © 7.Grant Rovelli, 8.Russell Packer, 9.George Gatis, 10.Wayne McDade, 11.Constantine Mika, 12.Sonny Fai, 13.Corey Lawrie Interchange: 14.Scott Jones, 15. Upo Poching, 16.Lui Toimoana, 17.Leeson Ah Mau. Coach: Graeme Norton


Bulldogs 36 d Sharks 32
Dragons 50 d Knights 0
Tigers 28 d Lions 18
Jets 24 d Bears 18
Magpies 44 d Sea Eagles 12
Panthers 28 d Eels 24. - Read More, Here