Tipping Competition2021

Team Of The Century - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Fri, 18 Apr 2008 11:23:00 GMT
Arthur Beetson was judged on his talent as one of the greatest ball playing forwards – not his controversial views about the occassion- when he was last night named as one of the two props included in the Team of the Century.
Beetson was one of five Queenslanders that made the side including Wally Lewis, Noel Kelly, Duncan Hall and Mal Meninga.
Yet he was the only one of the five that didn’t turn up to the affair because he disagreed with the direction the game has taken.
In a Sydney Morning Herald article published earlier in the day Beetson revealed he had “more important things to do”.
“"I really don't give a shit. At the end of the day it's just a matter of opinion.

"It'd be nice to be acknowledged but I care more about the direction of the game."

The Team of the Decade:
Fullback: Clive Churchill (South Sydney, Brisbane Norths)
Wing: Brian Bevan (Sydney Easts, Warrington)
Wing: Ken Irvine (North Sydney, Manly-Warringah)
Centre: Reg Gasnier (St George)
Centre: Mal Meninga (Brisbane Souths, Canberra)
Five Eighth: Wally Lewis (Valleys, Wynnum, Brisbane Broncos, Gold Coast)
Halfback: Andrew Johns (Newcastle)
Lock: John Raper (Newtown, St George)
Second Row: Ron Coote (South Sydney, Eastern Suburbs)
Second Row: Norm Proven (St George)
Prop: Arthur Beetson (Redcliffe, Balmain, Sydney Easts, Parramatta)
Prop: Duncan Hall (Valleys, Toowoomba, Brisbane Wests)
Hooker: Noel Kelly (Ipswich, Ayr, Sydney Wests)

Reserve: Graeme Langlands (St George)
Reserve: Dally Messenger (Sydney Easts)
Reserve: Bob Fulton (Manly-Warringah, Sydney Easts)
Reserve: Frank Burge (Glebe)

Coach: Jack Gibson (Sydney Easts, St George, Newtown, South Sydney, Parramatta, Cronulla) - Read More, Here