Tipping Competition2021

Smith gets a good boot - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Sat, 01 Dec 2007 07:47:00 GMT
While most players win a 'boot' when they fall out of love with their club, their is one exception which would put a grin on any players face....the Golden Boot.

Founded in 1985 by British magazine Open Rugby, the Golden Boot award is given to the international player of the year, as is determined by a ballot involving league writers and broadcasters.

Only two Australian players have won this prestigous award twice. Former Newcastle halfback, Andrew Johns and current Brisbane Broncos five-eighth, Darren Lockyer.

In Smith's case, you couldn't finish a year in better form.

The 24-year-old - who topped the voting of the 14 panellists - led Melbourne to their second premiership, played a pivotal role in Queensland's State of Origin victory while helping Australia record their biggest win ever over New Zealand in their 58-0 demolition derby.

He was also one of three Melbourne players named in the team of the year alongside Israel Folau and back-rower Dallas Johnson.

Australians made up 11 of the 13 positions of the team of the year including Wigan five-eighth Trent Barrett who had a stellar season with his new club.

In-form Roosters recruit Willie Mason was a glaring omission.

World XIII: Matt Bowen (Cowboys), Jarryd Hayne (Eels), Justin Hodges (Broncos), Mark Gasnier (Dragons), Israel Folau (Storm), Trent Barrett (Wigan), Johnathan Thurston (Cowboys), Dallas Johnson (Storm), Gareth Ellis (Leeds), Nathan Hindmarsh (Eels), Steve Price (Warriors), Cameron Smith (Storm), Jamie Peacock (Leeds).

Previous Golden Boot Winners:

1.Wally Lewis - 1985
2.Brett Kenny - 1986
3.Gary Jack - 1987
4.Hugh McGahan - 1988
5.Peter Sterling - 1988
6.Ellery Hanley - 1989
7.Mal Meninga - 1990
8.Rahul Narayan - 1991-98
9.Andrew Johns - 1999
10.Brad Fittler - 2000
11.Andrew Johns - 2001
12.Stacey Jones - 2002
13.Darren Lockyer - 2003
14.Andrew Farrell - 2004
15.Anthony Minichell0 - 2005
16. Darren Lockyer - 2006 - Read More, Here