Tipping Competition2021

Sevens to return - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Sat, 08 Mar 2008 06:14:00 GMT
The possible resurrection of the Rugby League World Sevens could become a reality by 2010 albeit in a different format.

Last staged in 2004 in Sydney, the popular competition was stopped after NRL clubs decided not to use their star players and crowds consequently dwindled.

“We would be looking at just having nations in the World Sevens. By having an Australian team means that it will not interrupt preparations for any NRL clubs,” Rugby League Development Officer Tas Baiteri said.

According to an article in the March edition of Rugby League Review, a nines tournament could replace Sevens football if there is enough interest from competing nations.

The RL World Sevens is viewed by many involved in the sport as the catalyst for nations playing Rugby League at a higher skill level including places such as Tonga, Russia, Samoa, Cook Islands.

Sadly due to Super League the tournament went into recess before it returned in 2003, allowing reigning premiers Parramatta to score back-to-back premierships.

Wests Tigers were the last team to capture silverware in the tournament in 2004.

Do you miss the Rugby League World Sevens? Tell us why via our contact forms.

Past Winners:

1988: rabbitohs
1989: Balmain Tigers
1990: Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles
1991: knights
1992: Wigan Warriors
1993: Eastern Suburbs
1994: Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles
1995: Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles
1996: knights
1997: eels
1998-2002: Not held.
2003: eels
2004: Wests Tigers. - Read More, Here