Tipping Competition2021

Russia left red faced - Australian Rugby league News
Back
globalrugbyleague - Wed, 31 Oct 2007 07:55:00 GMT

Lebanon mastered the fine art of snatching a scoreless victory after pinning down Russia 48-0 at the Nara Stadium in Moscow in a 2008 World Cup qualifier.

Russia are now out of the World Cup after the Cedars ran in 9 tries on the day and led 20-0 at half-time against a defence which redefined defence for all the wrong reasons.

Lebanon coach Darren Maroon wasn’t carried away with the whitewash.

“It was a good win in difficult conditions but we are going to have to lift if we are to beat the Irish,” said Marron.

Ray Moujali (Cronulla Sharks) was named as the man-of-the-match.

On Friday November 2, Lebanon will play Ireland in an automatic qualifier from Group One for the world cup.

In other qualifying results the United States thumped Japan 54-18.

Lebanon 48 (A Saleh 2, A El-Zbaideh 2, F Samia 2, T Nicolas, R Moujali tries; T Nicolas 4, G Ndaira 2 goals) d. Russia 0. Referee: Richard Silverwood. Crowd: 1,426.


World Cup Qualifying Results summary.





Group

Date

Team 1



Team 2

Result





Europe A

Sat, 27 Oct 07

Lebanon

def

Russia

48-0


Europe A

Sat, 20 Oct 07

Ireland

def

Russia

58-18


Atlantic Cup

Sat, 28 Oct 06

USA

def

Japan

54-18


Pacific Cup

Fri, 29 Sept 06

Tonga

def

Cook Islands

56-14


Pacific Cup

Fri, 29 Sept 06

Samoa

def

Fiji

30-28


Pacific Cup

Wed, 4 Oct 6

Fiji

def

Tonga

30-28


Pacific Cup

Wed, 4 Oct 06

Samoa

def

Cook Islands

46-6


Pacific Cup

Sat, 7 Oct 06

Fiji

def

Cook Islands

40-4


Pacific Cup

Sat, 21 Oct 06

Tonga

def

Samoa

18-10


Europe B

Fri, 28 April 06

Russia

def

Holland

40-14


Europe B

Sat, 13 May 06

Georgia

def

Serbia

45-10


Europe B

Fri, 26 May 06

Georgia

def

Holland

57-16


Europe B

Sun, 4 June 06

Russia

def

Serbia

44-6


Europe B

Sat, 17 June 06

Holland

def

Serbia

38-26


Europe B

Thurs, 22 June 06

Russia

def

Georgia
(Game not played)

24-0


Europe A

Sat, 28 Oct 06

Lebanon

def

Russia

22-8


Europe A

sat, 28 Oct 06

Scotland

def

Wales

21-14





Europe A

sat, 4 Nov 06

Ireland

draw

Lebanon

18-18



Source: RLWC08.com


- Read More, Here