Tipping Competition2021

Roby a man of steel - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Tue, 09 Oct 2007 08:36:00 GMT
St Helens star James Roby is the 2007 engage Super League Man of Steel.

The award - regarded as the most prestigious individual prize in the domestic game - is judged by a panel of Rugby League experts which includes representatives of the national media.

The winner is regarded as the player who has made the greatest impact on the 2007 engage Super League season.

Roby receives the unique Man of Steel trophy and a cheque for £5,000.

He was presented with the award at a ceremony at Old Trafford , Manchester. Roby will return there on Saturday (13th October 2007) when he and his St Helens team mates play against Leeds Rhinos in the engage Super League Grand Final.

Roby's current Saints colleagues Paul Wellens, Sean Long and Paul Sculthorpe are all previous winners of the Man of Steel Award, with Wellens winning the prestigious prize last season.

The following awards were also made at the ceremony:

The RLPA / GMB Players' Player of the Year 2007

This award is decided by a poll of all first team squads in the engage Super League with the proviso that players cannot vote for team mates.

The winner is Trent Barrett of Wigan Warriors

Nominees - James Roby (St Helens) and Paul Wellens (St Helens)

engage Super League Coach of the Year

The 2007 winner is Daniel Anderson (St Helens) - Anderson retains the title he won last season.
Nominees - Steve McNamara (Bradford Bulls) and Jon Sharp (Huddersfield Giants)

engage Super League Young Player of the Year (Under 21 at the start of the season

The 2007 winner is Sam Burgess (Bradford Bulls)

Nominees - Kevin Penny of Warrington Wolves and Tommy Lee of Hull FC

The engage Super League Referee of the Year

The 2007 winner is Steve Ganson.

Nominees - Ashley Klein and Richard Silverwood

engage Super League Top Try Scorer

Based on the number of tries scored during the engage Super League Regular season:

Winner - Henry Fa'afili (Warrington Wolves with 21 tries)

engage Super League Performance Awards - verified by Opta Stats

The engage Super League Metre Maker - the player making the most metres with the ball during the Regular season.

Winner - James Roby, St Helens (who ran for a total of 3,303 metres).

The engage Super League 'Hit Man' - the player making the most tackles during the Regular season.

Winner - Ben Fisher, Hull KR (who made a total of 841 tackles).

The winners of all the above awards are presented with a trophy and a cheque for £1,000.

Also at the ceremony, Leeds Rhinos were named club of the year for their all round excellence in sporting administration, player development and marketing.

Hull FC's Richard Whiting was named the Carnegie Community player of the year and Leeds

Rhinos' Keith Senior received a special award for becoming the first player to play in 300 Super League games.

- Read More, Here