Tipping Competition2021

QLD Cup preview - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Fri, 14 Mar 2008 07:24:00 GMT
Two new teams will make their debut in round 1 of the 2008 Queensland Cup when action commences this weekend.

The Northern Pride are said to have a huge home ground advantage while Mackay will bring plenty of experienced heads to the table including captain Shane Muspratt and forward Jamie McDonald, both of whom have played for the cowboys in the NRL.

Saturday March 15th
Venue: Henham Park
Kick-off: 2:00pm
Referee: Gavin Morris
GRL Tip: Tweed Heads

NEW Tweed Heads coach Mick Woods enters the grand final re-match without two of the stars of the Seagulls’ 2007 campaign. Key five-eighth Brad Davis and classy hooker Matt King have been ruled out through injury. Matthew Nuttall, who played in Tweed’s title-winning Colts team last season, has been named in the No. 6 jersey for the Cudgen blockbuster. Tweed is playing its first match at Cudgen, a renowned rugby league stronghold, after an off-season move from Piggabeen. Redcliffe has named former Penrith flyer Liam Georgetown on the wing and has rewarded promising young gun Michael Wilson with a spot on the interchange bench following an outstanding pre-season. Troy Lindsay, the most capped player in the Queensland Cup, makes his 244th appearance for the Dolphins.

TW: Ryan Milligan, Jonathan Freeman, Dennis Gordon, James Wood, Joel Rapana, Mathew Nutall, Tim Maccan, Roy Friend, Andrew Cross, Ian Donnelly, Luke Swain, Selasi Berdie, Mathew Pow. Interchange: Chris Enahoro, James Griffiths, Andre Amato, Luke Dumas. Coach: Michael Woods.

RC: Ryan Cullen, Craig Frawley, Chris Fox, Tim Yee, Liam Georgetown, Marty Turner, Shane Perry, Troy Lindsay ©, Michael Roberts, Craig Heslop, Grant Flugge, Danny Burke, Nathan Tutt. Interchange: Brian West, Derricke Watkins, Michael Wilson, Palmer Wapau. Coach: Gary O’Brien.

Saturday March 15th
Venue: Langlands Park
Kick-off: 3:00pm
Referee: Nick Kalpakidis
GRL Tip: Easts Tigers

FOLLOWING a sluggish pre-season, Burleigh faces its moment of truth at Langlands Park on Saturday. The Bears have been written off by many following three-straight trial match defeats. However, Bears coach Jimmy Lenihan is quietly confident his new-look team will fire in the premiership opener. Burleigh has several new faces in key attacking positions following the retirements of Adam Hayden and Ryan Gundry. Brent McConnell is the new five-eighth, with former Young Guns star Scott Smith filling the No. 9 jersey in the wake of Gundry’s departure. Giant props Charlie Tonga and Pat Gardner spearhead a formidable Easts Tigers forward pack. Former Rabbitoh Trent Young is the Easts captain for 2008.

ET: Wade Liddell, Tangi Ropati, Liam Campbell, Lance Morris, Matt Gruszkak, Justin McKay, Isaac Kaufmann, Pat Gardner, Trent Young ©, Charlie Tonga, Anthony Boyd, Scott Sipple, Wallace Solomona. Interchange: Josh Griffiths, Cameron Durnford, Tom MacDougal, Matt Lockyer. Coach: Darren Smith.

BURLEIGH: Nick Parfitt, Trent Purdon, Troy Savage, Adam Fielder, Aseri Lang, Brent McConnell, Ben Black, Brett O’Farrell, Scott Smith, Wayne Phillis, Martin Griese, Adam Hutchinson, John Flint. Interchange: Shane O’Flanagan, Pelo Petetelse, Stacey Katu, Robert Apanui. Coach: Jimmy Lenhan.

Saturday March 15th
Venue: Briggs Road Raceview
Kick-off: 3:00pm
Referee: Justin Eastwood
GRL Tip: Ipswich

IPSWICH plays its first premiership match at the refurbished Briggs Road Complex in many years on Saturday after an off-season move from QLD Group Stadium. Jets coach Kevin Walters has an embarrassment of riches at his disposal, with as many as seven Titans players in line for a game with Ipswich. The situation has created a major selection headache for Walters, who already had a strong team at his disposal. Wynnum Manly unveils its new recruits, with all eyes expected to be on the performances of former NRL players David Seage and Dallas McIlwain. Seage is playing his 114th match for the Seagulls after returning to the Bayside club following an injury-plagued stint with Newcastle. McIlwain, a former Bulldog, has been named at five-eighth.

Ipswich: Troy O’Sullivan, Scott Ireland, Jason Bulgarelli, Donald Malone, Luke Walker, Luke Gray, Ian Lacey, Scott Alo, Michael Ryan, Aaron Sweeney, Trevor Exton, Mathew Cross, Danny Coburn. Interchange: Isaak Ah Mau, Mathew McPhee, Chris Afamasaga, Brendan Marshall Coach: Kevin Walters.

Wynnum-Manly: David Seage, Tom Hewitt, Simon Phillips, Steve Irwin, Chris McQueen, Dallas Mcilwain, Denny Lambert, Jason Williams, Wade Bachmann, Kurtis Curry, Luke Dalziel Don, Darren Bain ©, Adam Brideson. Interchange: Ben Czislowski, Angus Martin, Cameron Joyce, Jason Moon. Coach: Shane McNally.

Saturday March 15th
Venue: Barlow Park
Kick-off: 6:00pm
Referee: Justin Davis
GRL Tip: Mackey.

THE two northern newcomers face off in an explosive round one clash at Barlow Park on Saturday. Northern Pride operations manager Chris Sheppard expects a 5000-strong crowd at the Cairns venue if the rain stays away. On paper, both sides appear evenly matched. The Pride and Cutters have received a sprinkling of talent from the cowboys. The Cutters did not win a trial game, but player/coach Shane Muspratt believes his charges are primed for a breakthrough victory. Muspratt will partner Luke Young in an exciting halves combination. The pair will go head-to-head with the slippery Sheppard brothers – Chris and Steve.

Northern Pride: Chey Bird, Gordon Rattler, Brett Anderson, Jackson Nicolau, Josh Vaughan, Steve Sheppard, Chris Sheppard, Ben Laity, Jason Roos, Ben Vaeu, Mathew Bartlett, Joel Reithmuller, Mark Cantoni. Interchange: Warren Jensen, Noel Underwood, Alex Starmer, Greg Byrnes. Coach: Andrew Dunemann.

Mackay: Chris Guimeli, Aaron Barba, Sam Granville, Daniel Backo, Anthony Perkins, Luke Young, Shane Muspratt, Dayne Weston, Anthony Watts, Jamie MacDonald, Kieran Lander, Daniel Abraham, Adam Schubert. Interchange: Mathew Mannion, James Bryant, John Frith, Kerrod Toby.

Saturday March 15th
Venue: Browne Park
Kick-off: 7:30pm
Referee: Robert Gallagher.
GRL Tip: Norths Devils

GIANT Broncos prop David Taylor has been named in the Central side for the Wizard Cup opener in Rockhampton. Taylor has already turned out for the Comets in the pre-season following the club’s newly-formed partnership with the Brisbane Broncos. Taylor will go head-to-head with in-form Devils prop Will Scanlon, one of the Nundah-based club’s most consistent performers. The young Devils will fancy their chances of opening the season with a victory following an impressive pre-season under new coach Mark Gee. Fringe Broncos players Joel Moon and Denan Kemp will ensure Gee has an array of attacking talent at his disposal in Saturday’s clash.

Comets: Nat Bowman, Junior Auru, Marty Hatfield, Tyrone Haynes, Dallas Williams, Shanan Woods, Marc Fickling, Luke Fatnowna, Kam Wilkinson, Dave Taylor, Todd Titmus, Wayne Barnett (c), Guy Williams. Interchange: Ken Kelhier, Brent Williams, Andrew Dale, Liam Anlezark, Mick Esdale. Coach: Wayne Barnett.

Norths Devils: Todd Parnell, Denan Kemp, Patrick Fray, Luke Brosnan, George Kepa, Joel Moon, Jacob Fauid, Will Scanlon, Marc Brentnall (C), Ryan Barton, Simona Vavega, Billy Rogers, Jack Pearson. Interchange: Fletcher Holmes, Matt Forest, Troy Hansen, Blake Blackburn. Coach: Mark Gee. - Read More, Here