Tipping Competition2021

New finals series - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Fri, 16 Jan 2009 21:43:00 GMT
The Queensland
Rugby League has given the green light for a six-team finals series for the 2009 Queensland

The new finals format, to be played over an exciting three week period
beginning August 29, has been introduced following the inclusion of the
Sunshine Coast as the 12th team in the Competition.

The CEO’s of the competing clubs voted for a six-team format at this week’s
meeting. The QRL Board backed that decision today.

With three semi-finals to be contested in the opening week of the finals, the
2009 play-offs could be even more unpredictable and exciting than last season’s
enthralling series.

Five sides contested the 2008 finals, with the Souths Logan Magpies going on to
record an historic victory over Ipswich in the grand final.

The Magpies will start the new season as one of the early favourites for the

Round one of the highly-anticipated Queensland Cup season commences on March
14-15, with the grand final locked in for September 12.


Semi Finals

29 - 30

Game A Team 1 v. Team 6

Game B Team 2 v. Team 5

Game C Team 3 v. Team 4

Two lowest-ranked losers are eliminated

Preliminary Finals

5 – 6

Game D Highest Winner Semi Final v. Remaining Loser Semi Final

Game E 2nd Winner Semi Final v 3rd Winner Semi Final

Grand Final


Game F Winner Game D v. Winner Game E - Read More, Here