Tipping Competition2021

King crowned second - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Wed, 13 Feb 2008 18:15:00 GMT

Former Origin hero Wally Lewis has been ranked as the second greatest player of the last 30 years in a special edition of Rugby League Week.

The former Queensland five-eighth - who crossed over from Rugby Union to League as a youngster - recieved 3 votes from a panel of six judges as did former knights halfback, Andrew Johns.

Johns eventually took out the top prize leaving some fans far from ecstatic.

Dazzat on the League Unlimited.com forum fired back:

"For me Wally Lewis comes third. He also comes second and first. Strip away the media hype and Andrew Johns may scrape in at fourth."

The 30 greatest players of the last 30 years: 1978-2008 are:

1. Andrew Johns
2. Wally Lewis
3. Brad Fittler
4. Darren Lockyer
5. Allan Langer
6. Mal Meninga
7. Peter Sterling
8. Laurie Daley
9. Brett Kenny
10. Brad Clyde
11. Mick Cronin
12. Steve Walters
13. Glenn Lazarus
14. Steve Rogers
15. Gorden Tallis
16. Shane Webcke
17. Steve Roach
18. Terry Lamb
19. Ricky Stuart
20. Ray Price
21. Andrew Ettingshausen
22. Danny Buderus
23. Johnathan Thurston
24. Camerton Smith
25. Les Boyd
26. Steve Mortimer
27. Ben Elias
28. Wayne Pearce
29. Nathan Hindmarsh
30. Cliff Lyons

Do you agree or disagree with the players chosen? Tell us about it via our contact form. - Read More, Here