Tipping Competition2021

Just League Awards - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Fri, 07 Sep 2007 00:25:00 GMT
South Sydney prop Roy Asotasi has taken out the Superstar of the Year title in the 2007 Just League awards.

Asotasi – who will be playing finals footy against Manly this weekend- beat a strong line-up of contenders including Clint Newtown, Peter Wallace and Kirk Reynoldson.

The 103kg former Bulldogs star convinced judges he positively transformed not only his team but also the quality of competition for the spectator.

Asotasi’s arrival was the catalyst for others to jump ship and help the Bunnies record their best season in 18-years.

It’s been an amazing year for the Kiwi international who was told by a former Bulldogs teammate that he would never see finals football again once he’d signed with Souths.

Meanwhile GRL officially unveiled the induction of four past greats into it’s ‘Hall of Heroes’ including long-time rivals Les Boyd and Daryl Brohman.

Neither men have settled their differences collectively since Boyd broke Brohman’s jaw in 1983 resulting in Brohman suing Boyd.

Judges considered their story as an important draw card in attracting interest in Rugby League and subsequently rewarded two of the toughest men ever to play the greatest game of all.

Eels CEO Denis Fitzgerald may not have played a game of football for the Eels since 1977 but he has remained an important figure in the club's continous finals appearances.

His coaching appointments on the whole have reaped the team more success then failure even if they haven't won a title since 1986. The former lanky forward is a loyal one-club man who plenty of current stars could learn a lot from.

John Ribot pre Super League was recognised as a survivor after overcoming a groin injury to continue his career with Western Suburbs from 1980-81. He then went onto to play for Manly in the 1982-83 Grand Finals.

Representing Australia in 9 tests, Ribot later attempted to make the greatest game of all global via Super League. Unfortunately he was ahead of his time with Global Rugby League not established until 2003 by contemporary visionary, Josh King.

While the Super League excercise failed, Ribot did succeed in establishing the Melbourne Storm who won their first premiership in only their second season.

If it were not for the boots n' all approach of Ribot, the Storm may not have been around to build Rugby League's profile in AFL dominated Victoria.

Unfortunately because of the $350 million worth of security required to protect our judges, the ceremony was held exclusively in an un-named venue.

After months of agony and deliberation by our panel of judges including a leading historian who no one knows, a couple of fans we found in a bar and the GRL traitor, the verdict is in and these are this year’s winners.


1.Denis Fitzgerald
2.John Ribot
4.Daryl Brohman
5.Les Boyd

BEST PLAYER TO LEAVE THE NRL FOR SUPER LEAGUE – Michael Monoghan (Manly to Warrington)

MOST IMPROVED HAIRCUT - Cameron Smith (Melbourne)

WISH HE WAS STILL COACHING US AWARD – Michael Hagan (former Newcastle mentor)

COACH OF THE YEAR – Jason Taylor (South Sydney)

MOST STIMULATING INTERVIEW – Daryl Brohman with Eels prop Fui Fui Moi Moi in round 25 on talkback station 2GB 873.

HE’LL GET IT EVENTUALLY MEDAL – Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers)

BEST REFEREE OF THE YEAR - Paul Mossman (Darwin Rugby League). Mossman put all 26 players on report in round 14 following a brawl between South Darwin and Brothers.



These two former players had an impromptu verbal hit-up after the Eels disemboweled South Sydney 18-12 at Parramatta Stadium back in round 18.
Prior to the press conference Taylor told Hagan: “How fucked are you? You’re living off what Brian Smith built here while he’s up in Newcastle trying to rebuild what you fucked up!.”

Hagan responded: "Why don't you work on catching the ball instead of wrestling all fucking game?"

Good ol' Eels CEO Denis Fitzgerald then in his own entertaining sort of way labeled Taylor “Petulant and Immature”

The GRL Traitor said the incident was “outrageously vital for interest in our game to grow through daily newspapers."

QUOTE OF THE YEAR - “And if he doesn’t want to talk with me that’s okay. I’m not bothered now and never was. But I’m certainly not gonna crawl up his arse to make it happen, either” - Daryl Brohman on improving relations with Les Boyd who he sued after Boyd broke his jaw during State of Origin in 1983.

IMMEDIATE IMPACT MEDAL – Brian Smith (Newcastle).

In one season the greatest coach never to win a premiership brought Newcastle perilously close to picking up wooden spoon number 2, allowed some very good players to sign with other clubs and quickly changed the Michael Hagan culture. Smith became the talk of the town leading to 9-year-olds telling tabloid media he should be sacked.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD – Fullback Gordon Fred (Kundiawa Warriors)

Fred was the only contender for this prestigous title after being banned from Rugby League for life for attacking a referee in the Papua New Guinea competition.

STILL DON’T KNOW WHO IT IS AWARD – The Mole from Rugby League Week.

SUPERSTAR OF THE YEAR - Roy Asotasi (South Sydney).

This bloke easily earn't his pay by inspiring his side to finals glory for the first time in 18-years after importing a winning culture which the club desperately needed. One of the most important ingredients in the Bunnies new found success. - Read More, Here