Tipping Competition2021

Jim Beam Preview - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Sat, 03 May 2008 12:18:00 GMT
Mounties remain the only undefeated team in the Jim Beam Cup heading into their round 6 clash with Wentworthville.

The Magpies are really struggling when it comes to playing second-half football. They either let the opposition score first and then take too long to reply and post enough points to keep the contest alive.

Or as they demonstrated last weekend against the WA Reds, they can play some of their best footy in the opening forty minutes and win at half-time but then concede too many unanswered points after the break.

In round 5 Mounties ended the Bulls winning streak but conceded too many late tries in the final 10 minutes of play and ended up with a 4-point victory, their lowest winning margin so far this season.

Is this an indicator that Mounties are getting closer to a loss?

This is a danger game for the competition leaders in the sense that they’re only 2-points ahead of the Sydney Bulls and the Bulls should be too strong for Chester Hill to handle.

The WA Reds are back at home for the second time this year against 3rd placed Windsor. It would be an incredible victory for the newcomers if they defeated the 2005 JBC premiers and made it four straight wins. A big crowd is expected at Members Equity Stadium.

My dark horse game for round 6 is the clash between Campbelltown and Shellharbour. The Marlins seriously impressed me with their 40-point bashing of Southern Sydney last weekend.

But Campbelltown seem like a hungrier outfit and they might just have that extra bit of confidence and physical endurance to finally get the job done and take out win number one.

I think all you Southern Sydney fans should write to the pontiff and ask him for a blessing. Even then I’m not sure when you’ll be able to find something to smile about.

Erina will run away with the biggest win of the round against Southern Sydney while the flip of the coin anything could happen fixture is between Cabramatta and Belrose who are trying hard but are still way off from producing their best footy.

Don't forget either that the Jim Beam Cup returns to television screens next Wednesday May 7 on Fox Sports Two.

Chester Hill V Sydney Bulls
Saturday May 3rd, 3:00pm
Terry Lamb Reserve
Referee: Chris Sutton
GRL Tip: Sydney Bulls

Chester Hill: Mick Taouk, Andrew Abounader, Tevita Folau, Nick Kassis, John Berkley, Ben Setephano, Aaron De Gois, AJ Pesamino, Darren Brown, James Koloamatamgi, Travis Robinson, Rhys Ellis, Wayne Beh. Interchange: Tony Alo, Joseph Cahill, Tini Tuitama, Ali Karouche Coach: Geoff Robinson

Sydney Bulls: Dane Gilmore, Toufic Nicolas, Mark Butler, Danny Barakat, Paul English, Nathan Wynn, Adam Tippet, Charlie Farah, Nathan DeBartolo, Dean Vicelich, Paul Winterstein, Danny Swindells,Troy Bushby. Interchange: David Langi, Chris Salem, Suli Koroibulileka Tommy Mansour Coach: David Bayssari.

Cabramatta V Belrose
Saturday May 3rd, 5:00pm
Cabramatta Sports Ground
Referee: Grant Atkins
GRL Tip: Belrose

Cabramatta: Sammy Agia, Louis Vaiotu, James Trotter, Alan Burns, Francis Vaiotu, Aaron Fluke, Brett Rimmer, Chris Yates ©, Scott Jones, Casey Ellis, Si’ikaeha, Apelu Pot, Keith Heckenburg Interchange: Dean Lamb, Ross Brown, Albert Tuara, Hala Katoa, Richie Parker, Jonothan Russell Coach: Lenny Stacker.

Belrose: David Pangai, Lee Cameron, Greg Hilton, Michael La Manna, James Cameron,
James Mortimer, David Marando ©, Shannon Cameron, Peter Delaivuna, Adam Shaw, Jim Curtis, Mailangi Styles, Steve Carew. Interchange: Martin Cook, Teariki Noovao, Francis Langifishi, Andrew Needham, Phillip Ranga Coach: Peter Camroux.

WA Reds V Windsor
Sunday May 4th, 2:30pm
Members Equity Stadium
Referee: David Munro
GRL Tip: Windsor

WA Reds: Ben Lindegaard, Tyrone Coppedge, Michael Kestel, Heath Egglestone, Jason Godecke, Craig Phillis, Ryan Dickson, James Blake, Isaac Thomas, Michael Small, Jon Phipps, Stephen Gherardi, Shayne McMenemy. Interchange: Nathan Searle, Sio Mailangi, Ben McCrone, Zac Keating, Pikari Te Wara. Coach: Chris Dever

Windsor: Dan Randall, Daniel King, Chris Barlow, Danny Chiha, Tim Hala, Ben Harden, Craig Trindall, Tito Nuimata, Ryan Russell, Jason Wrigley, Shennelle Haumono, Ashley Hazelton, McKonkie Tausas Interchange: Fatualua Mu Mu, Ryan Tramonte, Alister Taua’a, Wiremu Weipu, Daniel Roki Coach: Trent Rosa.

Mounties V Wentworthville
Sunday May 4th, 2:30pm
Mounties Sports Ground
Referee: Gavin West
GRL Tip: Mounties

Mounties: Channarath Ly, Anthony Dalton, Peter Lett, Wayne Dargan, Adham El-Zabedeih, Damien Mostyn, Drew Dalton ©, Pat Galea, Anthony Farah, Ben Weir, Justin Coveney, Mathew McConnell, Blake Champion. Interchange: Demetrius Ainnu, Cassiano Aiga, Inoke Amone, Chester Paselio,Fillipo Polaiga Sauvao, Chris Saab, Ashley Hare Abraham Pritchard Coach: Steve Ghosn.

Wentworthville: Tim Mortimer, Simon Micallef, Paul Ivan, Paul Raftery, Sam TE’O, John Paul Hawach, James Boustani, Luke O’Callagah, Ben Bailey, Alfred Betham, Tim Wynn, Brett Sargent (c), Jesse O’Neill. Interchange: Todd Eriha, Darren Lang, Justin Wood, Nathan Cleaver. Coach: Brett Cook.

Erina V Southern Sydney
Sunday May 4th, 2:45pm
Erina Oval
Referee: Jayson Elkins
GRL Tip: Erina

Erina: Josh Lewis ©, Tim Smith, Matt Riddle, Chris Liggins, Vita Hemmings, Danny Lawrence, Jon Tavinor, Mark Meredith, Zac Jones, Nigel Townsend, Brad Barrett, Jacob Martin, Alan Munroe Interchange: Hayden Karena, Luke Mears, Brent Munro, Petros Thanos, Daniel York Coach: Mark Horo.

Southern Sydney: Chance Bunce, Cameron Collenette, Danny Godinet, Shaun Nagwini, Sharlon Taki, Chris Kerr, Joey Pakerura, George Ghazal, Peter Prime, Wendell Wilson, Steve Stewart, Atelea Vea, Trent White. Interchange: Kurt Puohotaua, Josh Pickard, Leonard Ropoarte, Daniel Rehmie Coach: Luke Goodwin

Campbelltown V Shellharbour
Sunday May 4th, 3:00pm
Campbelltown Showground
Referee: Adam Gee
GRL Tip: Campbelltown

Campbelltown: Tyler Aitken, Paul Neville, Grant Lahey, Stephen Harding, Pele Leuluai, Luke James, John Da-Silva, Jamie Szczerbanik (vc), Samual Hoare, Apolo Tiaeloia, Ryan Owen, Mathew Blunden, Troy Gibbs. Interchange: Mathew Veve, Jarryd Eggleton, Tukia Muli, Kurt Austin, Samson Mariner Coach: Daniel Draper.

Shellharbour: Ian Catania, Jeff Zwolsman, Frank Samia, Kieran Stewart, Jace Brown, Brad
Davidson, Blake Dureau, Matt Hillcoat, Ben Ellis, Jon Green, Jarrad Roberts, Daniel Deaves, James Keelan Interchange: Hans Schuster, Bryce Poisel, Brad Soper, Eddie Hei Hei, Joe Sang-Yum, Nathan Reddy, Craig Paku, Coach: David Walsh. - Read More, Here