Tipping Competition2021

Jim Beam Cup Finals - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Thu, 30 Aug 2007 16:10:00 GMT
A hot and cold season of Jim Beam Cup footy has resulted in only one new team entering this year’s finals series.

The Entrance managed to sail into the final five in third spot on 32 competition points despite losing their last three fixtures of the year against minor premiers Cabramatta, Windsor and Belrose.

Off the back of a form slump and a $10,000 fine for playing an unregistered player during their round 20 clash against Cabramatta, they are favourites to win less points then the Bulls this weekend and obviously lose.

The ‘J.K Blow of the season’ shield was won by the Belrose Eagles who despite leading the competition table up until the half-way mark – missed out on making their finals debut.

The Eagles were hit by injuries late in 07 and seemingly never recovered. Their 10-point loss in round 21 helped Wentworthville leap in front of them and never look back.

Both the Magpies and the Wolves scored 40 points last week so they will need to prepare for what should probably be a tight, close knit contest on Saturday afternoon.

Coach Trent Rosa is looking to bring back the trophy that Windsor won in 2005 while counterpart Ian McCann and Brett Cook are searching for the Magpies first title in this competition.

The Sydney Bulls are looking to become the first side to win the Jim Beam Cup title back to back. However if history is any guide, the Bulls will fall at the final hurdle and bounce back in 2008.

However the reigning champs only just beat this year’s wooden spoon winners, Seven Hills, by 2-points last Sunday, so don’t write off the Entrance completely.

On their day the Entrance can score plenty of points early in the game to create unassailable leads through point-scoring wizards like Ryan Wheele and Jamen Mcleod.

Who do you think will win the Player of the Year award? Send us your thoughts via our contact form.

Week 1 – Finals Football

Windsor V Wentworthville
Venue: Cabramatta Sports Ground
Date: Saturday September 1st, KO: 1:00pm
Referee: Adam Devcich
GRL Tip: Windsor

Windsor: 1.Shaun Laurie, 2.Chris Barlow, 3.McConkie Tauasa, 4.Jason Chan, 5.Dan Randall, 6.Ben Stewart, 7.Drew Dalton, 8.Tito Nuimata 9.Ryan Russell, 10.Jason Wrigley 11.Shenelle Haumono, 12.Nathan Russell, 13.Ryan Tramonte. Interchange: 14.Chanel Arama, 15.Brad Parker, 16.Denis Boyd, 17.Daniel King,19.Luke Gordon Coach: Trent Rosa

Wentworthville: 1.Steven Mowbray, 2.Simon Micallef, 3.Mark Luland, 4.Ammon Frost, 5.Daniel Bell, 6.Jacob Byrne, 7.Keiran Herring, 8.Luke O’Callaghan, 9.Ben Bailey, 10.Brad Capovilla, 11.Darren Lang, 12.Adam Capovilla, 13.Brett Sargent. Interchange: 14.Aaron Fluke, 15.Mark Fakahua, 17.Tom Petric, 22.Walter Vaeau. Coach: Ian McAnn/Brett Cook

Sydney Bulls V The Entrance
Venue: Cabramatta Sports Ground
Date: Saturday September 1st, KO: 1:00pm
Referee: Gavin Reynolds
GRL Tip: Windsor

Sydney Bulls: 1.Dane Gilmore, 2.Danny Barakat, 3.Wes Naiqama, 4.Nathan Ford, 5.Chris Salem, 6.Nathan Wynn, 7.Luke Millward, 8.Suli Koroibulileka, 9.Nathan Debartolo, 10. Puna Rasaubale, 11.Chris Smith, 12.Paul Winterstein, 13.Steve Jolly. Interchange: 14.Tom Mansour, 15.Charlie Nohra 16.Khaled Deeb, 19.Jason Asplet, 20.Toufic Nicolas Coach: David Baysarri

The Entrance: 1.Jamen Mcleod, 2.Ryan Wheele, 3.Shaune Corrigan, 4.Jamie Davis, 5.Vita Hemmings, 6.Gavin Westwood, 7.Alex Moore ©, 8.Chris Birchall, 9.Matt Gibson, 10.Cheyne Lennon 11.Scott Hutchinson, 12.Brett Blaker, 13.Brian Tritton Interchange: 14.Courtney Rolff,15.Jacob Martin, 16.Danny Sommerville, 17.Kirk Thompson, 18.Troy Woodley Coach: Jamey Forbes

Round 23 Results:

Cabramatta 22 drew Shellharbour 22
Windsor Wolves 44 def Asquith 12
Wentworthville Magpies 40 d Erina Eagles 10
Belrose Eagles 18 d The Entrance 16
Sydney Bulls 26 d Seven Hills Demons 24
Chester Hill Rhinos 32 d Mounties 24

Past Jim Beam Cup Premiers:

2003 – The Entrance
2004 – Sydney Bulls
2005 – Windsor Wolves
2006 – Sydney Bulls
- Read More, Here