Tipping Competition2021

Jim Beam Cup - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Thu, 23 Aug 2007 21:52:00 GMT
Footyholics will be dragging cartons of thermoses full of coffee right around NSW this weekend to calm the nerves during round 23 of the Jim Beam Cup.

Belrose Eagles fans are now on full-strength beans following their side’s heartbreaking 16-4 loss to finals bound Wentworthville at Lionel Watts Reserve last Sunday.

The Magpies victory puts them 1 point in front of the Eagles on the competition ladder. However that could all change this weekend if the results are reversed for those two teams.

Consistency will be the key to winning that 5th spot on the ladder and both teams simply haven’t executed this well enough in recent weeks to be considered a finals danger.

It would be cruel but fair to call this a very uneven round of football on the horizon with teams 1, 3 and 4 going head-to-head against the bottom 3 clubs.

That should provide for a relatively successful weekend of tipping with a few notable exceptions. Erina if they hit their straps are capable of beating Wentworthville in front or coming from behind.

The biggest clash of the round is reserved for Sunday when Belrose will try to save a finals berth at the expense of the Entrance Tigers who have lost their last two games against Windsor and Cabramatta.

Injuries late in the season to Belrose appear to be their undoing and if regular halfback Richard Plummer doesn’t take the field to steer the sinking ship back to the surface, the Entrance should win.

Seven Hills will also create history on Sunday for the wrong reasons. They’ve struggled to take out winnable games against teams not faring that much better then they are in 2007.

I’m still not sure who will be the Demons halfback next season given they’ve experimented with quite a few personnel.

A loss to the Bulls will christen the Demons with their first Jim Beam Cup wooden spoon in front of hundreds of loyal supporters at Fairfax Community Stadium.

Should the unthinkable happen and the 2006 premiers go down and Asquith loses on Saturday to Windsor, then the battle for Rugby League's least coveted title will remain up for grabs. Don’t hold your breath.

Round 23 Teams

Wentworthville V Erina
Venue: Ringrose Park
Date: Saturday August 25th, KO: 1:00pm
Referee: Rickey McFarlane
GRL Tip: Wentworthville

Wentworthville: 1.Steven Mowbray, 2.Simon Micallef, 3.Mark Luland, 4.Ammon Frost, 5.Daniel Bell, 6.Jacob Byrne, 7.Keiran Herring, 8.Luke O’Callaghan, 9.Ben Bailey, 10.Brad Capovilla, 11.Darren Lang, 12.Adam Capovilla, 13.Brett Sargent. Interchange: 14.Aaron Fluke, 15.Mark Fakahua, 17.Tom Petric, 22.Walter Vaeau. Coach: Ian McAnn/Brett Cook

Erina: 1.Ruben Enoka, 2.Matt Brinckley, 3.Matt Riddle, 4.Luke Mears, 5.Piripi Ranga 6.Zac Collett, 7.Jon Tavinor, 8.Daniel York, 9.Hayden Karena, 10,Nigel Townsend, 11.Alan Munro, 12.Matt Hunt, 13.Zac Jones. Interchange: 14.Dave Ryman, 15.Justin Rogers,16.Aaron Hamstra, 17.Luke Roberts Coach: Mark Horo..

Windsor V Asquith
Venue: Windsor Sports Complex
Date: Saturday August 25th, KO: 4:00pm
Referee: Jayson Elkins
GRL Tip: Windsor

Windsor: 1.Shaun Laurie, 2.Chris Barlow, 3.McConkie Tauasa, 4.Jason Chan, 5.Dan Randall, 6.Ben Stewart, 7.Drew Dalton ©, 8.Tito Nuimata 9.Ryan Russell, 10.Jason Wrigley © 11.Shenelle Haumono, 12.Nathan Russell, 13.Ryan Tramonte. Interchange: 14.Chanel Arama, 15.Brad Parker, 16.Luke Gordon, 17.Daniel King Coach: Trent Rosa

Asquith: 1.Sean Storie, 2.Jason Mazgay, 3.Clint Towers, 4.Steve Mathews, 5.Daniel Lahoud, 6.James Puhipuhi, 7.Chan Ly, 8.Mark Meredith, 9.Ciaran Williamson, 10.Desai Gupwell, 11.Jason McDonald, 12.Shane Eastwood, 13.Ina Papera Interchange: 14. Mark Curtis,, 15.Eddie Leulaid 16.Bart Masters, 17.Chris Lowe Coach: Paul Pollard.

Cabramatta V Shellharbour
Venue: Cabramatta Sports Ground
Date: Saturday August 25th, KO: 5:00pm
Referee: Robbie Bowen
GRL Tip: Cabramatta

Cabramatta: 1.Don Thompson, 2.Grant Britcher, 3.Samual Aiga 4.Matt Gruszka, 5.Hala Katoa 6.Allan Burns, 7.Adam Tippett, 8.Chris Yates, 9.Scott Jones, 10.Richie Parker, 11.Keith Heckenburg, 12.Ross Brown, 13.Phil Tackhi. Interchange: 14.Albert Tuara, 15.Nathan Emms, 16. Moses Allifaalogo, 17.Willie Brown, 18.Joel Latham Coach: Warren Beumont

Shellharbour: 1.Ian Catania, 2.Jeff Zwolsman, 3. Jamie Manukonga , 4.Josh Champion,, 5.Kevin Neighbour, 6.Brad Soper, 7. Hans Schuster, 8.Jamie Dunning, 9.Lewis McPhail, 10.Peter Magnone 11.Ben Cole, 12.Brendon Tunbridge ©, 13.James Keelan. Interchange: 14.Dane Sablowski, 16. Nathan Cooper, 17.Brian West, 19.Matt Hillcoat Coach: David Walsh

Mounties V Chester Hill
Venue: Mounties Sporting Complex
Date: Sunday August 26th, KO: 2:30pm
Referee: Luke Potter
GRL Tip: Mounties

Mounties: 1.Channarath Ly, 2.Justin Coveney, 3.Mark Butler, 4. Charlie Herekotukutuku, 5.Jamie Burns, 6. Daniel Russell 7.Adam Bennett,, 8.Lucas Riley, 9.Trent Horsey, 10.Alfred Betham, 11.Abraham Pritchard,12.Mathew McConnell 13.Danny Swindells. Interchange: 14.Shane Saunders, 15.Demetrius Anuu, 16. Chester Paselio , 17.Wayne Dargan, 18.Dave Mansour, 19.Mathew Blunden, 21.Inoke Amone Coach: Steve Ghosn

Chester Hill: 1.Nathan Barry, 2.Andrew Abounader, 3.John Berkley, 4.Saia Makisi, 5.Mick Taouk, 6.Clayton Sellings 7.Tinetali Papalii, 8.David Thompson ©, 9.Matt Habojan, 10.Dallas Sciascia, 11.Wayne Beh, 12.Travis Robinson, 13.Matt Lamb. Interchange: 14.Sam Aukoso, 15.Haden Johnson, 16.James Koloamatangi, 17. Tinifuloa Tuitama Coach: Geoff Robinson.

Seven Hills v Sydney Bulls
Venue: Fairfax Community Stadium
Date: Sunday August 26th, KO: 3:00pm
Referee: Adam Neale
GRL Tip: Sydney Bulls

Seven Hills: 1.Luke Ackroyd, 2.Michael Kassab, 3.Darren Peachey, 4.Joseph Swamy, 5.Nathan Tannous, 6.Reece Watson, 7.Tarik Houchar, 8.Joe Tuala, 9.Brad Clark, 10.Daniel Hearn, 11.Tim Wynn, 12. Aaron Brown, 13. Matt Kelly. Interchange: 14.Shad Hayward, 15.Michael Learmont, 16.Brad Partington, 17.Josh Chaplin Coach: Tim O’Brien

Sydney Bulls: 1.Dane Gilmore, 2.Danny Barakat, 3.Wes Naiqama, 4.Nathan Ford, 5.Adnan Saleh, 6.Nathan Wynn, 7.Luke Millwood, 8.Suli Koroibulileka, 9.Nathan Debartolo, 10. Puna Rasaubale, 11.Chris Smith, 12.Paul Winterstein, 13.Steve Jolly. Interchange: 14.Tom Mansour, 15.Charlie Nohra 18.Khaled Deeb, 19.Jason Asplet, 20.Toufic Nicolas, 21.Chris Salem Coach: David Baysarri

The Entrance V Belrose
Venue: Edsacc Oval
Date: Sunday August 26th, KO: 3:00pm
Referee: Gavin Reynolds
GRL Tip: Belrose

The Entrance: 1.Jamen Mcleod, 2.Ryan Wheele, 3.Shaune Corrigan, 4.Jamie Davis, 5.Vita Hemmings, 6.Gavin Westwood, 7.Alex Moore ©, 8.Chris Birchall, 9.Matt Gibson, 10.Cheyne Lennon 11.Scott Hutchisson, 12.Brett Blaker, 13.Brian Tritton Interchange: 14.Courtney Rolff,15.Jacob Martin, 16.Troy Woodley, 17.Kirk Thompson, 18.Corey Kinsela, 19.Danny Sommerville Coach: Jamey Forbes

Belrose: 1.Tim Mortimer, 2.Fred Khouiss, 3.Todd Barrow, 4.Greg Hilton, 5.Michael Lamanna, 6.Matt Mirabito, 7.Willie Bishop, 8.Jim Curtis, 9.Nathan Hollingsworth, 10.Brad McLeavy, 11.Steve Carew, 12.Bryan Dickson, 13.Peter Delaivuna Interchange: 10.Shannon Cameron, 14.Matt Forrest, 15.Jay Cunningham, 16.Martin Cook, 18.Brandon Scott, 19.James Croot, 23.Steve Gilbert Coach: Peter Camroux

Round 22 Results:

Cabramatta 44 d Asquith 22
Windsor 30 d Entrance 22
Wentworthville 16 d Belrose 4
Shellharbour 32 d Seven Hills 24
Sydney Bulls 24 d Chester Hill 10
Erina 25 d Mounties 22
- Read More, Here