Tipping Competition2021

Bears rewarded - Australian Rugby league News
globalrugbyleague - Sun, 04 Nov 2007 09:15:00 GMT
North Sydney Bears players and staff were honoured at the club's 2007 Presentation Night on Wednesday the 26th of September.

The charismatic Jardine Bobongie won the player of the year and supporters’ player of the year awards. It was a most deserving award for the hard working utility forward for the Bears.

Ever reliable winger Troy Boston received the best back award. Boston was certainly the Bears most consistent player, finishing off backline movements with faultless reliability.

Mid season recruit from the cowboys, Ben Lowe received the best forward award. Lowe made an instant impression with the coaching staff and fellow players with his non stop performances for the team.

Ryan Verlinden was announced as the most improved player for the Premier League Bears. Verlinden came on strong towards the latter end of the season, with his towering stature his power was a handful for all opposition teams.

The Premier League awards were rounded off with a presentation made to David Peachey in recognition for the massive contribution he has made to the North Sydney club, during his short stint with the club prior to his retirement.

The Bears Jersey Flegg team was also recognised for their efforts during the 2007 season. Captain, Mitch Williams received the player of the year award. Despite a difficult season Williams’s leadership skills shone out, driving the team with endless amounts of enthusiasm.

Martin Field’s first class attitude and application lead him to pick up the most consistent player of the Bears.

Late preseason recruit, Ricky Morris was voted the players’ player of the year. Despite his lack of size, Morris made up for that with his courage and natural blazing speed which lead to a number of individual tries.

The late season revival by the Jersey Flegg team has resulted in players Brad Lupi and John Kaifoto signing with South Sydney’s National Youth Competition squad to be announced shortly.

And a number of other players are currently in negotiations with other clubs for contracts next season. This result is a tribute to the quality coaching provided by first year coach Willie Leyshon.

Appropriately the club person of the year award went to the very worthy recipient Ros Dare, who showed great emotion in her acceptance speech. Ros has worked tirelessly this year behind the sense running the Clubs merchandise line and helping to sort out some long standing administrative issues.

Also on the 15th of June this year the North Sydney Junior Representative teams came together to recognise their own. Player of the Year awards went to Ashley Calvert-Evers in the Ball and Fin McDonough in the Matts. The North Sydney Harold Matthews and S G Ball teams continue to improve and next year is already looking promising with over 400 young men attending the Bears annual open trials on 6 October.

Congratulations to all award winners in the Bears 100th season.

The winners were:

Jersey Flegg:
Most Consistent: Martin Field
Most Improved: Chris Farrell
Players' Player: Ricky Morris
Player of the Year: Mitch Williams

Club Awards:
Highest Points corer: Joe Williams
Club person of the year: Ros Dare

Supporters' Player of the Year: Jardine Bobongie

Premier League:
Player of the Year: Jardine Bobongie
Best Back: Troy Boston
Best Forward: Ben Lowe
Most Improved: Ryan Verlinden

SG Ball:
Player of the Year: Ashley Calvert-Evers
Players' Player: Josh Nicholls
Coaches Award: Brad Lupi

Harold Matthews:
Player of the Year: Fin McDonough
Players' Player: Jayson Lombardo
Coaches Award: Cameron Votano and Christian Bate

Junior Club Awards:
Highest Point Scorer: Brad Horder (SG Ball)
Most Consistent: Branden Raela (Harold Matthews)
Junior Rep Player with the most potential: Brad Lupi (SG Ball) - Read More, Here